Mumford & Sons Blog#2 – The Cave Analysis

My favorite song in the album is The Cave, it was the song the made me want to listen to their other songs. I like everything about the song from the beat to the lyrics. I think the song is about starting new after a bad relationship. The person he was with was heartless and she was just playing with his heart. Yet he still looks out for her because she is harmful to herself. He finds the strength to finally leave her and her controlling and lying ways. Even though she is a liar, he wants to know one truth from her. The part that says:

“So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears”

supposedly refers to the Odyssey, when Odysseus told his sailors to tie him to a post on his ship so he can listen to the Sirens sing and he wanted to be tied so he doesn’t jump off the ship to go to them. His sailors put beeswax on their ears so they don’t hear the alluring music. In Greek mythology the Sirens are the widows and orphans so that’s why their music is so beautiful that it makes the listen go crazy. In the song the Sirens is the girl with her lies. Despite his fears, her lies signaled him to leave her.

“So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down”

That refers to Plato’s allegory to the cave. After coming out of the cave he is not sure what he sees.

“So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say”

This refers back to the Odyssey, where is refuses to listen to the Sirens. He won’t listen to the girls lies.

“Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be”

He breaks free from the girl and now he needs to learn how to live his life without her.

5 Out of 5

Leave a Reply

